MORE cider?

I’ve got so many bloody apples that I don’t know what to do with them. I can’t be making them all into cider  I reckon I’ve got at least 100 litres all told, and while it would be fantastic to make 100 litres of good, drinkable cider, I’m still at the stage where it’s a bit of a lottery, and 100 litres of crap is both a waste of time, and I just don’t have the capacity to store it all. So, until I can regularly make a good batch, I’m going to keep the volumes small and manageable, so any losses are relatively inconsequential.

I’ve decided that the juice I made earlier (like about 6 weeks ago at the start of the apple harvest) is probably not as good as what I could make from the apples that are sitting there now – they’ve had several weeks to ripen and more importantly sweeten. There is about 30L in the freezer, and I need to do something with it fast, or there will be no room for anything else. Cheese rolls, legs of lamb, you know the sort of thing that wives like to use freezers for. I’ve already given away 25L to other brewing friends for them to have a crack at cider but I need to do something with what’s left, so I can make space for the juice that’s still to be pressed.

Ice ice baby

10 litres of appley ice

I produced most of my apple juice from frozen/thawed apples, as it makes the entire process several orders of magnitude easier, but I’m not convinced it doesn’t produce a sightly more watery juice at the end. It certainly looks clearer than juice produced from smashed (i.e. not frozen/thawed) apples, but I can’t tell if that’s because the freezing process breaks down the fruit in a less destructive manner than hitting the fuck out of it with a fence post. Hence, I want to remove some of the water before I try and ciderize it. I was planning to boil it down a little, but I’ve been told that that method might impair the flavour so I’m going to try and only part thaw it. If the bottles of juice thaw upside down, hopefully all the juicy goodness will flow out first, leaving more of the frozen water in the bottle and if I catch it at the right time, I can discard some unwanted water. That’s the idea, but who knows if it will actually work. Will keep you posted…

One thought on “MORE cider?

  1. Success!

    It turns out that if you let the juice run out until the block of ice has nearly turned colourless, then the juice is super concentrated. I estimate that you waste between 1/3 and 1/2 volume-wise, but it’s totally worth it, especially if you’ve got juice to spare.

    Like

Leave a Reply

